Lent Madness this week

I haven’t had any strong favorites in the matchups this week so I haven’t been lobbying, but I thought I’d post a little update. I voted for Augustine who lost to his mother; for Bonhoeffer who beat the Apostle James in a landslide; and for John Cassian (vote still going on) against James Lloyd Breck.

Tomorrow I’m rooting for St. Catherine of Siena, who is one of only three women Doctors of the Church. (And besides which, I saw a great one-woman show about her last fall by Sr. Nancy Murray, a sibling of Bill Murray.) Catherine was influential in the restoration of the papacy from Avignon back to Rome.

The comments on the voting threads are worth reading, too. Following the conversation about the two saints, and hearing everyone else’s reasons for voting, be they shallow or sublime, is a form of companioning with the saints and each other as we journey through Lent and reflect on the One whom we follow. And isn’t that what being Church is all about?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lent Madness this week

  1. Thank you for voting for the Lutheran.

    • OK, this is funny: my initial reaction to your comment was “I voted for a Lutheran? Who??” 😀

      Bonhoeffer’s work and life has such far-reaching influence that he seems to transcend denominations. I’m very interested in the difference of perspective that different denominations/church families bring to the discussion: it’s usually the first thing I want to know about anybody I’m reading — but in this case, it never even occurred to me to wonder. I think he was truly “catholic” in the original sense of universal.

      And Lutheran. 🙂 Or rather, as a Lutheran.

      Thanks for bringing that to my attention!

Post a comment

