Thank you, Sister

Thank you, Sister Dolores, for preparing me for my first communion.

Thank you, Sister Jeannine, for encouraging my love of science.

Thank you, Sister Bernadette, for teaching me french and showing me kindness.

Thank you, Sister Suzanne, for teaching me algebra and showing me that it’s okay to admit you don’t know the answer to something, but will figure it out before tomorrow.

Thank you, Sister Carmel, for teaching me Spanish and anatomy and that dreadful little rhyme about patience that I still recite today.

Thank you, Sister Dorothy, for promising junior high school kids “you respect us, and we’ll respect you,” and leading a school that aspired to be a city set on a hill.

Thank you, Sister Renee, for teaching me Latin and being so happy when I came back from college and told you that I was teaching Sunday School there.

Thank you, Sister Sue, for being the first woman I ever knew who was studying biblical Hebrew, and for sharing with us the exegesis you were learning there; for the best career advice I was ever given; and for being my chaplain, my counselor, and my friend throughout my college years.

Thank you, Sister!


It continues to be difficult for me to figure out what to say and how to say it without contributing to the polarizing discourse in the church around this issue. But as a child of three Catholic schools and an Newman Community member in college, there were a lot of nuns in my formative years. I am grateful to them all.

This entry was posted in Catholic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank you, Sister

  1. Anna says:

    What’s the rhyme about patience? I’d like to hear it

    • Oh, I was wondering if someone would ask!
      Here you go:

      Patience is a virtue,
      Virtue is a grace:
      Put them both together
      and you have a smiling face!

      To get the full effect, chant it in a sing-song and put a perky little head-tilt and happy-happy smile as punctuation after the final beat. 🙂

      It wouldn’t have been dreadful in 2nd grade, but for 8th graders it was a bit too-too. But it sure stayed with me!

Post a comment

