Psalm 1 and Poetic Forms

Psalm 1 was one of the scriptural texts that I was assigned in my first exegesis class. While engaging with this text, I discovered to my surprise and delight that much of what I had learned about the explication of poetry (primarily from the good folks of Eratosphere, from whom I also learned almost everything I know about translating poetry) was directly applicable to the structural and detailed analysis of scriptural texts. And, just like explicating a poem, the practice of this kind of analysis generates not only a deeper understanding of the text but also a sense of fond familiarity, similar to encountering a piece of choral music that I’ve sung. Out of that fondness, I thought I’d share what I learned of Psalm 1.

Read the rest of this post, and its subsequent comments, over at BLT.

This entry was posted in BLT, Scripture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Post a comment

