Skeletons

In telling our stories, both personal and church stories, what is needed every now and then is the courage to remove the skeletons that are within us and bury them.

I repeat that what is needed in both our personal and church lives, what is needed is the courage to remove the skeletons that are within us and bury them in cemeteries so that they will be at peace there.

Many times, that which is a skeleton for me, something that is not good for me, no longer exists in my life. I have seen this even within my own life. I combat a reality that no longer exists. I had been afflicted by certain problems and hurts. We must purify this within us, internally. And if that skeleton remains there, it does us much harm.

— Cardinal Joao Braz de Aviz, prefect of the Vatican Congregation for Religious, addressing the International Union of Superiors General, in Rome on 5 May 2013. As reported by NCR.

This entry was posted in Catholic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Post a comment

