Blogiversary: Four Whole Years?!

Cake with four candlesI started blogging four years ago today this past Friday, 4 September. Given what the past year has been like, it’s annoyingly appropriate that my blogiversary post is late. :b

This last year has been a particularly slow one; I’ve blogged less than ever, only 34 posts this year down from 78 the year before. This has been partly for reasons discussed in my last post, and partly because I haven’t figured out how to prioritize my blogging in the absence of semester constraints and in the presence of so much going on in the world and the church that’s worth blogging about.

I do have a handful of pieces in various stages of completion, and a couple dozen more “oh I should blog about that” starters, so I’m hopeful I can get back into the swing of things this year. However, if anyone has any favorite topics or things you’ve been wishing I would blog about, do let me know – maybe that will help me prioritize.

Only one of this year’s top 10 posts was written this year; it ranked 6th (excluding the Home and About pages), and it has the most comments of any post on my blog:

The Purpose of Marriage: Gen 1 or Gen 2?

The rest of the top ten are all strong performers from previous years. The top three are clearly student-driven: yay, students! I hope you found something helpful (and remembered to cite it correctly πŸ˜‰ )

Topics in Early Church History?
Bible Translations: Formal or Functional?
Models of the Church, part 1

And maybe the fourth as well — I suspect there’s not much on the internet about a hermeneutic of generosity:

Hermeneutics, Suspicion, and Generosity

Posts 5, 8, and 10 are all mimetic theology posts:

Rejecting the Glamor of Evil
A Feminist Critique and Appropriation of Mimetic Theory
Rape Culture and the Construction of Virgin Saints

and to some extent, post 7 as well:

Perpetua and Felicity

Finally, post 9 has reflections on several of Paul’s letters, from my independent study on Paul:

Impressions from Paul’s letters to the Galatians, Philippians, Corinthians, and Philemon

Looking over this year’s posts, I think the two strongest were both Catholic-specific, but reflecting on the church at very different levels: one from the pews, the other from the college of bishops.

Reflecting on the (Altar) Rail: Catholic communicants and the changes of Vatican II – this is the sixth-most commented post on my blog, and was in fact prompted by a conversation on Twitter – so do read the comments.

Synod 2014: Ecclesiology, Authority, Trust, and Fear as an Occasion of Sin – Ecclesiological reflections in response to one paragraph from Pope Francis’ opening remarks to last year’s synod.

If you missed them the first time, please do check them out now.

Thank you, readers & commentariat, for your company, your conversation, and your patience with my slower posting pace this year; and thanks for celebrating with me today! Have some cake! and enjoy the party music, which I’ve never heard before but it had the perfect title. πŸ˜€

This entry was posted in Meta. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blogiversary: Four Whole Years?!

  1. katmarie13 says:

    Happy blogiversary! I was so happy to discover your blog when you were added to the roster at BLT. It’s been a delight to read, whatever the frequency of posting may be. πŸ™‚ You have been my main introduction to mimetic theory, and I’ve loved everything you’ve written about it–I doubt I would get tired of you writing on the subject or with that lens anytime soon, if at all, especially when you combine it with feminist analysis. As a Protestant I also really appreciate all your posts and thoughts on Catholic Stuff, for lack of a better way to put it. πŸ™‚

    It’s always hard to pick a favorite, but I think your post on Thecla and Trifina was engrossing and enlightening (and kinda mindblowingly awesome, if I may indulge in some enthusiastic hyperbole!) and is possibly my favorite.

    Here’s to another year!

    • What a lovely comment – thank you! I appreciate the encouragement to get back into posting with a mimetic perspective, and the reassurance that the Catholic Stuff is interesting to Protestants as well. πŸ™‚

      The Thecla & Trifina post is one of my favorites, too — may I quote your enthusiastic endorsement for it on Twitter?

      • katmarie13 says:

        Ha, sure, quote away!

        Regarding the Catholic Stuff, beyond the appreciation of getting an insider perspective (which is great), some of your comments have been helpful to me in my own (relatively recently adopted) Episcopalian worship context. I think particularly of this reflection about where the priest stands during the eucharistic prayers and what it communicates, and about how some of the language has the priest speak in persona ecclesiae. Incidentally, I went to our monthly altar guild meeting this morning, the first with our new priest, and she mentioned that she will be wearing the chasuble for the whole service and not just the Eucharist and cited Vatican 2 reforms and reasoning. πŸ™‚

Post a comment

